SCRC Sevens Series Open to All Collegiate Teams

01/15/2015, 3:15pm ESTBy MTB

Three championship level tournaments for college rugby

The SCRC will host three (3) Sevens Series Championship events plus a final SCRC Championship Tournament.  While open to any interested collegiate program, the Sevens Series tournaments will also serve as a qualifying event for the SCRC Championship Tournament. Entry fee for the Sevens Series events shall be $250 and must be paid 5 days in advance.  There is no entry fee for the SCRC Championship Tournament.

March 21 – Gainesville, FL
March 28 – Tuscaloosa, AL
April 11 – Tupelo, MS
April 18 – SCRC Championship – Knoxville, TN

Team Qualifications
Participating teams must be recognized collegiate teams (of any division) that are fully registered and in good standing with USA Rugby and their affiliated conference. Only SCRC teams shall qualify for the final SCRC Championship Tournament on April 18. A SCRC team may enter a second team in the event if space allows but this team shall not be eligible to earn championship points.

Sevens Series Event Details
A maximum of 16 teams shall be registered in a one day event with a maximum of 5 games.

Teams must register at the SCRC website and all registrations must be received 5 days prior to the event.  No team shall be allowed to register the day of the event.

Teams will be divided into 4 pools with round robin play and then teams shall emerge into a semifinal round based on results. Championship brackets shall be Cup, Plate, Bowl and Shield. Consolation games should be played in each bracket to insure a ranking can be tabulated for the tournament.  Event seeding, formatting and scheduling shall be done at the conference level and posted 48 hours prior to the event.

Teams will be allowed a 15 man roster for each event.  The players may change on the roster from event to event but must be submitted to tournament officials prior to each event. All participants must be eligible and registered based on USA Rugby Collegiate Eligibility Regulations and each team must have a certified coach as required by USAR regulation.

SCRC Championship Seeding
Points will be assigned based on finish in the three series championship events.  15 points will be awarded to the top finishing SCRC team, 14 to the second highest finishing SCRC team, and then will continue down the ranking.