SCRC Names 2016 Olympic Rugby All-Conference Team

05/11/2016, 11:00am EDTBy MTB

Darnell named Coach of the Year / Keown named Player of the Year

The Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference has selected its Olympic Rugby All Conference team for 2106.  High Performance Director Mark Morris oversaw the selection process in which each conference coach had the opportunity to nominate and cast a ballot for players and coach of the year.

The final 1st and 2nd teams including 20 players from 9 different conference teams including 4 Gamecocks, 3 Volunteers and 3 Crimson Tide players. The fact that there are nine teams represented confirms that the level of play continues to improve and parity within the league is a growing reality. 

7’s Coach of the Year
Steve Darnell, South Carolina 

In his 3rd year coaching the South Carolina 7’s side, Darnell has established one of the premier sevens programs in the Southeast. Last spring, the Gamecocks finished with a 21-3 record, building upon their appearance at the Penn Mutual CRC‰’s in 2014 and their Shield Championship at the USA Rugby Nationals in 2013. With three SCRC 7‰’s series titles, South Carolina advanced to the Top-25 in all three national polls, aided by victories over 5 previous CRC participants. This season, the Gamecocks struck again, winning the first SCRC 7’s series event before claiming their first conference title. This summer, the Gamecocks will once again return to the Penn Mutual CRC‰’s and the USA Rugby 7’s Nationals. 

7’s Player of the Year
Brian Keown, South Carolina

A senior scrum half from Newton Square, PA, Keown is a Carolina Rugby Scholarship recipient majoring in Biological Science. In high school, Keown was 4 year varsity starter at St Joseph’s Prep, winning the PA State Championship, competing with the Eastern Pennsylvania All-Stars, and receiving Team Captain and MVP honors. While playing for South Carolina, Keown is a 3-time All-Conference 15’s Team recipient and a 2-time All-Conference 7’s Team recipient. 

1st Team

Kyle Bumette,  Florida
Thomas Coar,  South Carolina
Ross Depperschmidt,  Alabama
Ethan Fromm,  Georgia
Tim Hamill,  South Carolna
Brian Keown, South Carolina
Chris Leatherwood,  Tennessee
Matt Schick,  Alabama
Jordan Speight,  Mississippi State
Dylan Taunton,  Auburn

2nd Team

Caleb Canter,  Kentucky
Dana Cocoran,  South Carolina
Max Dodd,  Ole Miss
Jake Lackovic,  Ole Miss
Nick Mangella,  Auburn
Derrick Mitchell,  Mississippi State
James Puente,  Alabama
Porter Ramsey,  Kentucky
Andrew Sayers,  Tennessee
Travis Vickers,  Tennessee

Player of the Year

2016 SCRC Olympic Rugby Player of the Year

Brian Keown,  South Carolina

Coach of the Year

2016 SCRC Olympic Rugby Coach of the Year

Steve Darnell,  South Carolina