Crimson Tide’s Depperschmidt named Player of the Year

12/05/2016, 11:30am ESTBy MTB

Coach of the Year is Kentucky’s Anderson

Alabama’s senior center and captain Ross Depperschmidt has been named 2016 SCRC Player of the Year as voted by coaches/delegates of conference teams. Depperschmidt was selected over other very worthy finalists Obum Imonugo of  Georgia (prop) and Max Dodds of Ole Miss (flyhalf).

Kentucky’s Gary Anderson was selected as the 2016 SCRC Coach of the Year after leading his team to their first ever SCRC playoff appearance.  

2016 Player of the Year

Ross Depperschmidt (Alabama)
Ross Depperschmidt led his team to a 5-1 regular season record and a dramatic come from behind win in the SCRC Semifinal.  In the 2016 SCRC Championship game, Ross capped off an impressive collegiate career by scoring a try and setting up the other that proved to be decisive in a win over Tennessee.

2016 Coach of Year

Gary Anderson (Kentucky)
Gary Anderson let the Kentucky Wildcats to a 5-1 conference record and their first ever appearance in the SCRC playoffs.  Under Anderson’s management influence, in a few short years, the Wildcats have gone from a struggling team to a roster of over 50 talented rugby players.  Under his leadership, Kentucky has installed a program structure and recruiting program that is the envy of conference rivals.