Alabama Claims 2016 Championship

11/14/2016, 3:30pm ESTBy MTB

Crimson Tide win with a late goal line stand

Alabama and Tennessee squared off on Saturday for the 2016 Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference Championship at Lupo Family Field at Life University in Marietta, Georgia.  

A game filled with tough defense and untimely miscues from both teams resulted in a low scoring affair that came down to the final moments. Alabama was able to turn back the Volunteers twice in the closing moments to earn their first 15’s conference title.  

The Crimson Tide advanced to the final with a 5-1 regular season record and a thrilling come from behind victory over Kentucky 34-33 in the conference semifinals.  The Volunteers advanced with a 6-0 record and a 41-26 victory over Florida in the other semifinal.

Alabama Line Up

1. Tyler  Pollock / TJ Patterson
2. Pat Feimer
3. Shawn Dawley
4. Bobby Collins
5. Jackson Moss / Ian McDonald
6. Heath Ross
7. Connor Ray
8. Christian Abbatiello
9. James Puente
10. Jgnacio Guisasola
11. Andres Kallas / Brett Walsh
12. Ross Depperschmidt (c)
13. Taylor Carpenter
14. Caleb Strum
15. Tyler Hsin

Scoring Summary

13:00 Try Tennessee (Rivas)  
   UA 0-5 UT
19:00 Yellow Tennessee (Kayser) 
26:00 Yellow Tennessee (Landon)
33:00 Try Alabama (Strum)
   UA 5-5 UT
33:00 CK  Alabama (Guisasola)
   UA 7-5 UT
46:00 Yellow Alabama (Abbatiello)
49:00 Try Alabama (Depperschmidt)
   UA 12-5 UT
59:00 PK Tennessee (Schwartz)
   UA 12-8 UT 

Halftime: Alabama 7, Tennessee 5
Full Time:  Alabama 12, Tennessee 8

Referee: Randall Johnson
Asst Referee: Rosenhammer
Asst Referee: Reimsnider

Tennessee Line Up

1. Keenan Kayser
2. Charlie Holman
3. Jordan Campbell / Creighton Couch
4. Kerry Roberts
5. Nesto Rivas / Duncan Bintrim
6. Hayden Ryan
7. Dylan Craven
8. Josh Landon
9. Travis Vickers
10. Nick Duklewski (c)
11. David Nuckolls / Michael Turner
12. William Holland
13. Ben Schwartz / Justin Ransom
14. Sam Hawkins
15. Cormac Barry