Monthly Archives: April 2019

2019 All Conference Olympic Teams Announced.

The Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference has announced the 2019 All Conference Olympic (7s) Team based on the performance at this year’s championship event in Columbia, South Carolina.  

First Team

Caleb Strum (Alabama)
Matt Pikowski (Alabama)
Obum Imonugo (Georgia)
Chris Bagby (Kennesaw State)
Ben Dorsey(Kennesaw State)
Brendon Esson (Kentucky)
Grant Broeder (Kentucky)
Cam Massengill (Mississippi State)
Danny Callahan (South Carolina)
Patrick Beacom (Tennessee)

Second Team

Patrick Feimer (Alabama)
Jerome Bohuslaviski (Auburn)
Shea O’Hanlon (Kennesaw State) 
Jacob Goeppner (Kentucky)
Ty Lewis (Kentucky)
Colby Pearl (Middle TN State)
Antonio Liberti (Mississippi State)
Walker Graham (South Carolina)
Conner Hoefer (South Carolina)
Ben Schwartz (Tennessee)

Kentucky Claims Olympic Rugby Championship

The University of Kentucky captured the 2019 SCRC Olympic Rugby Championship with a 26-14 victory over Kennesaw State University in the final.  The one day event proceeded under threatening skies in Columbia, South Carolina with the Gamecocks serving as excellent hosts. 

In what proved ot be the most competitive sevens event in conference history, UK emerged from pool play with narrow victories over Alabama, Georgia and Mississippi State.  Kennesaw State advanced to the final with equally narrow victories over Tennessee, South Carolina, Auburn and MTSU.  

Kentucky 7s Team
Kennesaw State 7s Team

Pool A

D  Kennesaw State12
A  South Carolina10
C  Tennessee8
B  Auburn4

Pool B

F  Kentucky12
H  Alabama10
J  Miss State8
I  Georgia6
G  Ole Miss0

Schedule / Results

9:00 AMAvBSouth Carolina12Auburn7
9:20 AMCvDTennessee5Kennesaw State14
9:40 AMFvGKentucky15Ole MissFFT
10:00 AMHvIAlabama21Georgia14
10:20 AMBvEAuburn0MTSU35
10:40 AMAvCSouth Carolina27Tennessee0
11:00 AMGvJOle MissFFTMiss State15
11:20 AMFvHKentucky10Alabama7
11:40 AMAvDSouth Carolina5Kennesaw State17
12:00 PMCvETennessee33MTSU14
12:20 PMFvIKentucky17Georgia10
12:40 PMHvJAlabama24Miss State14
1:00 PMBvDAuburn12Kennesaw State19
1:20 PMAvESouth Carolina26MTSU7
1:40 PMGvIOle MissFFTGeorgia15
2:00 PMFvJKentucky20Miss State5
2:20 PMCvBTennessee36Auburn19
2:40 PMDvEKennesaw State21MTSU12
3:00 PMHvGAlabama15Ole MissFFT
3:30 PMIvJGeorgia12Miss State19
4:15 PM5th PlaceTennessee12Miss State5
4:45 PM3rd PlaceAlabama17South Carolina14
5:15 PM1st PlaceKentucky26Kennesaw State14

SCRC Conducts 2019 Annual Meeting and Admits Memphis and Georgia Tech

Announces competition realignment for 15s

In the annual general meeting on April 07 the Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference completed several items of business related to membership, competition and leadership.

Present:  Alabama, Auburn, Kennesaw State, Kentucky, Middle TN State, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee
Absent:  Georgia

Meeting Opening at 8:00 PM EST

Elected Leadership
Commissioner – Marty Bradley
Treasurer / Secretary – Jim Farrar

Appointed Leadership
Competitions Director – Gary Anderson
Discipline Director – Charles Dube
Referee Director – Dave Haines

University of Memphis
Georgia Institute of Technology
Both teams were accepted by a unanious vote.

2019 15s Competition Review
Tier 1: Kentucky, Alabama, South Carolina, Tennessee, Georgia, Kennesaw State
Tier 2: Auburn, Georgia Tech, Memphis, Middle TN State, Ole Miss, Mississippi State

Features: 1 crossover for a total of 6 matches. Championship game in each tier. challenge / promotion match options.

2019 7s Competition Review
April 13 – Columbia, SC
Winner – USAR National Tournament Bid
Highest finishing SEC team – CRC Bid

Financial Report
Membership voted unaniously to leave 2019-2020 dues at 2018-2019 level and also approved budget to reflect previous year budget.

High Performance
Review of plans and proposal for all-star team and camps/clinics.

Please update. 

Meeting Adjourned at 8:40 PM EST