2019 All Conference Teams Announced

The Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference has announced the selections to the 2019 All Conference Teams.

This year, the conference has selected an all-conference team from the D1AA competition, an all-conference team from the DII competition, and an overall first 15 Dream Team.  Each team was given the opportunity to nominate players from their own team plus identify players from the fall competition that they then could also nominate.

Tennessee’s Ben Schwartz

The D1AA All-Conference team is lead by a very talented group of men, including Kennesaw State’s Ben Dorsey at center, Kentucky’s Brendon Esson at flyhalf and Tennessee’s Ben Schwartz at fullback.   Forward standouts include locks Greg Janowick (UT) and Campbell Robinson (KSU), and Alabama’s Ethan Miner at Flanker.

The DII All-Conference team is led in the forwards by Memphis’  front rowers Austin Kelley and Musa Banat, along with Auburn’s Jerome Bohuslavizki at #8.  Standout backs included centers JJ Greatrex (MTSU), Calvin Gentry (Memphis) and Sam Delmerico (Georgia Tech).   

Memphis’ Austin Kelley

The 2019 15s D1AA Player of the Year is the University of Tennessee’s Ben Schwartz.  Schwartz (Senior Mechanical Engineering major from Knoxville, TN) led the Volunteers at fullback in a season that saw more teams than ever before turn to tactical kicking.  He capped the year with 16 points in the conference championship match (4 conversions, 1 penalty kick and 1 try).  The MVP of the conference championship match is also the 2019 SCRC D1AA Player of the Year.

The 2019 15s DII Player of the year is the University of Memphis’ Austin Kelley.  Kelley (Sophomore Pre-Law major from Collierville, TN) led the Tigers at prop in a season that saw Memphis win the SCRC DII regular season title and advance to the USA DII National round of 8.

2019 Dream Team

1Austin KelleyMemphis
2Dirk van den BergKentucky
3Nick BruneAlabama
4Greg JanowickTennessee
5Campbell RobinsonKennesaw St
6Ethan MinerAlabama
7Andy LloydTennessee
8Patrick BeacomTennessee
9Luke DaviesTennessee
10Brendan EssonKentucky
11Jacob GeoppnerKentucky
12Ben DorseyKennesaw St
13JJ GreatrexMTSU
14Chris BagbyKennesaw St
15Ben SchwartzTennessee

2019 SCRC D1AA All Conference

Caleb StrumAlabama
Matt PikowskiAlabama
Shea O’HanlonKennesaw State
Ben DorseyKennesaw State
Chris BagbyKennesaw State
Josh InglisKennesaw State
Brendon EssonKentucky
Jacob GoeppnerKentucky
Connor HoeferSouth Carolina
Luke HarrisSouth Carolina
Ben SchwartzTennessee
Luke DaviesTennessee
Ethan MinerAlabama
Nick BruneAlabama
Michael CurranGeorgia
Campbell RobinsonKennesaw State
Dirk van den BergKentucky
Anthony MenciniKentucky
Tommy MaxwellSouth Carolina
Greg JanowickTennessee
Andy LloydTennessee
Patrick BeacomTennessee
Creighton CouchTennessee

2019 SCRC DII All Conference

Sam DelmericoGeorgia Tech
Brittin RoedelMemphis
Alec SiscoMemphis
Calvin GentryMemphis
John DentamoreMississippi State
Cam MassengilMississippi State
JJ GreatrexMTSU
Devauntae BeasleyMTSU
Jerome BohsulavizkiAuburn
Mason WilliamsonAuburn
Jermiah RussellGeorgia Tech
Andrew AllenGeorgia Tech
Jas PyneniGeorgia Tech
Austin KelleyMemphis
Musa BanatMemphis
Jason LeonardMississippi State
Colby PearlMTSU
Jaxon WallaceMTSU