2017 SCRC All-Conference

Kentucky Sweeps Coach and Player of the Year

The Kentucky Wildcats lead the way with a total of 10 players selected as 2017 SCRC All-Conference. Kentucky’s Brendon Esson was selected as the 2017 Player of the Year and UK’s Gary Anderson received the well earned 2017 Coach of the Year. A total of 45 players were honored from 9 conference teams. 

2017 Player of the Year – Brendon Esson

Brendon Esson

Brendon attended High School at St Johns College in Harare, Zimbabwe before moving to Lexington in 2015.  Since joining the program Brendon has been a standout player and leader on and off the pitch, his leadership led him to be named team captain in 2017.  In this year’s SCRC Championship he scored twice including the go ahead score in the final minutes of the game.

2017 Coach of the Year – Gary Anderson

Coach Gary Anderson

Coach Anderson led the Kentucky Wildcats to their 1st ever SEC Championship going 12-0 on the season between the two sides. The key component to the wildcat’s success is the entirety of the coaching staff, Vince Gross, Scott Tungay, Jan DeBeer and Taylor Johnson. The staff does an outstanding job from recruiting quality talent to getting the student athletes to perform at their maximum level.

SCRC First Team

Front RowKeenan Kayser (UT)
Front RowTucker Donlon (UK)
Front RowShawn Dawley (UA)
LockIsaac Hamlin (UK)
LockNesto Rivas (UT)
Back RowCaleb Canter (UK)
Back RowDylan Craven (UT)
Back RowKerry Roberts (UT)
ScrumhalfTravis Vickers (UT)
FlyhalfBrendon Esson (UK)
Back  Shaq Suber (UK)
BackEli Warfield (UK)
BackChristian Harrell  (USC)
BackSean Barnes (USC)
BackIgnacio Guisasolo( UA)

SCRC Second Team

Front RowJames Campbell (UGA)
Front RowJosh Landon (UT)
Front RowJerome Bohuslavizki (AU)
LockBrandon Holmes (USC)
LockAshton Yates (MSU)
Back RowLogan Butler (UK)
Back RowMicah Stewart (USC)
Back RowTom Earl (UF)
ScrumhalfBrian Radcliff (UGA)
FlyhalfNicolae Toma (UM)
Back  Sam Hawkins (UT)
BackPorter Ramsey (UK)
Back Alex Schultz (MSU)
BackCaleb Strum (UA)
BackJohn Via (UT)

Honorable Mention

Rick Lafountain (UF)
Kolby O’Malley (UF)
Bobby Collins (UA)
Joel Larson (UGA)
Dom DiGeronimo (UK)
Kalon Gipson (UM)
Jacob Von Echenbach (AU)
Bobby Morgan (UA)
Chuck Deport (USC)
Mike Runion (UGA)
John Detamore (MSU)
Sameer Kahn (AU)
Josh Robertson (UM)
Michael Tomasin (MSU)
Dirk van den Berg (UK)