Monthly Archives: December 2015

Bids now being accepted for tournament hosts

12/09/2015, 3:30pm ESTBy MTB

Venue selection will take place in January

The Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference if now accepting bids to host the three Olympic Rugby Tournaments that will be held in April.  Bids must be received by January 08.

April 02  Qualifying Tournament
April 09  Qualifying Tournament
April 16  SCRC Championship 

Return your completed bid form to Competitions Chair Gary Anderson at

2015 All Conference Awards Announced

12/09/2015, 5:30pm ESTBy SCRC

The 2015 SCRC All Conference awards for the fall 15s season have been announced. This year’s competition saw much improvement over the course of the season with some teams taking major steps forward in their performance. Overall the level of play was much improved and it showed in competitive matches from top to bottom. The conference would like to thank all teams, players, coaches, club sports administrators, referees, volunteers, and fans for making this year a success. 

All Conference
First Team, Second Team and Honorable Mention awards were announced with 43 players from 10 schools making the list.  See full list below.

2015 SCRC Player of the Year
Matt Schick – University of Alabama

Alabama’s Matt Schick has been named 2015 15’s SCRC Player of the Year. The senior #8 from Alabama had an outstanding season and was instrumental in Alabama’s undefeated West Division Championship.

2015 SCRC Coach of the Year
Marty Bradley – University of Tennessee

Coach Bradley has been named SCRC 15’s Coach of the Year. Coach Bradley and his staff led the Vols in a fantastic fall season that included a East Division Championship and a perfect 9-0 season. Coach Bradley, in his 19th season as a coach with the Volunteers, directed Tennessee back to the playoffs and was rewarded with the 2015 SCRC title.

SCRC First Team

Prop – Obum Imonugo (Georgia)
Hooker – Logan McNeil ( Tennessee)
Prop – Collin Thul (Tennessee)
Lock – Kerry Roberts (Tennessee)
Lock – Sam Brennan (South Carolina)
Flanker – Dan Corcoran (South Carolina)
Flanker – Caleb Canter (Kentucky)
#8 – Matt Schick (Alabama)
Scrumhalf – Brian Keown (South Carolina)
Flyhalf – Nick Duklewski (Tennessee)
Center – Ross Depperschmidt (Alabama)
Center – Dylan Turner (Mississippi)
Wing – James Whipper (South Carolina)
Wing – Andrew Sayers (Tennessee)
Fullback – Tim Hamill (South Carolina)

SCRC Second Team

Prop – Nathan Driggers (Georgia)
Hooker – Matthew Lund (Alabama)
Prop – Jake Murphy (Tennessee)
Lock – Jacob Mattrella (Auburn)
Lock – Jack Donlon (Tennessee)
Flanker – Kyle Peterson (Kentucky)
Flanker – Zach Carmello (Alabama)
#8 – Mike Mahon (South Carolina)
Scrumhalf – Jordan Speights (Mississippi State)
Flyhalf – CJ Leadingham (Kentucky)
Center – Nick Magnella (Auburn)
Center – Ekene Ray Nkem (Vanderbilt)
Wing – Stephen Beckerle (Florida)
Wing – Terrance Matthews (Mississippi State)
Fullback – Naoki Kawahara (Alabama)

SCRC Honorable Mention

Ben Mathers (South Carolina)
James Davidson (Georgia)
Zach Mullineaux (South Carolina)
Brendan Follington (Tennessee)
Xavier May (Georgia)
Nichole Tomas (Mississippi)
Kyle Burnett (Florida)
Michael Rudzinsky (South Carolina)
Bobby Hughes (Tennessee)
Christain Harrell (South Carolina)
Omar McClendon (Mississippi State)
Nick Lewis (Kentucky)

Tennessee defeats South Carolina for Conference Championship

12/09/2015, 1:15pm ESTBy SCRC

Tennessee defeated South Carolina 23-22 on the final play of the game to earn the 2015 Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference Championship. The title match was played at the Rugby Athletic Complex in Charlotte, North Carolina as part of the American Collegiate Rugby Championship Bowl Series.  

South Carolina advanced to the final with a victory over Alabama in Tuscaloosa. Trailing 17-8 at the break the Gamecocks adjusted to a wider game plan to score four second half tries for the 34-27 win.

Tennessee defeated Florida in Knoxville to earn a trip to the championship game. In the second half the Volunteers extended a 20-13 halftime lead by two tries and held the Gators out of the try zone to account for the 30-13 final score.

Game Summary

Game summary provided by ACRC 

5 min: 
Try – University of South Carolina
USC on the board with a try from Dana Corcoran 5-0 Gamococks

14 min: 
Penalty Kick by Andrew Sayers – University of Tennessee
Tennessee on the board. 5-3

21 min: 
Penalty Kick by Andrew Sayers –  University of Tennessee
Tennessee gets another three to pull ahead of the Gamecocks 6-5

24 min: 
Try by Ben Mather; CK by Brian McKeown – University of South Carolina
Try and conversion for USC puts the Gamecocks back ahead 10-6

29 min: 
Try by Kerry Roberts – University of Tennessee
Vols score first try but do not convert – score now 12-11

38 min: 
Try by Nick Duklewski; CK by Sayers – University of Tennessee
Tennessee brings it across for another try; conversion good – 18-12 Vols

40 min: 
Try – University of South Carolina
Gamecocks get try at tail end of the half but do not convert – score now 18-17 Vols up

55 min: 
Try – University of South Carolina
South Carolina dots one down to regain the lead – 22-18 Gamecocks.

70 min:
South Carolina has been keeping the ball in Vols territory most of the half. A real defensive battle.

79 min: 
Try – University of Tennessee
Vols’ Kerry Roberts pounds his way across the try line to put Tennessee back ahead in a hugely dramatic final drive – 23-22

80 min: 
An INCREDIBLE finish to the SCRC Championship game – Tennessee manages to get downfield in the final minutes and eventually pounds their way through a determined USC line to snatch victory. Raucous Gamecock fans silenced in disbelief as Tennessee claims the championship.

East Division

South Carolina5103-1-0

West Division

Ole Miss1500-4-0