Monthly Archives: May 2015

Alabama claims 2015 Olympic Rugby Championship

05/11/2015, 8:30am EDTBy MTB

Bama headed to CRC; Mississippi State headed to USAR National Championship

April 18 – SCRC Championship – Knoxville, TN

Alabama defeated Mississippi State 24-14 to cap a near perfect day of rugby and captured the 2015 Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference Olympic Rugby Championship.  

Alabama defeated Tennessee and Auburn while tying Florida to complete pool play undefeated.  Mississippi state went 3-0 with victories over LSU, Georgia and tournament favorite South Carolina.

In the semifinal round, the Crimson Tide defeated South Carolina 22-21 while the Bulldogs bested Tennessee 14-10.  

SCRC Championship

Shield Championship
Florida 22, Auburn 17

Bowl Championship
Georgia 19, LSU 17

Plate Championship
South Carolina 19, Tennessee 15

Cup Championship
Alabama 24, Mississippi State 14

2015 Final Standings

  1. Alabama
  2. Mississippi State
  3. South Carolina
  4. Tennessee
  5. Georgia
  6. LSU
  7. Florida
  8. Auburn
  9. Vanderbilt
  10. Ole Miss

Fall 2015 Competition

05/11/2015, 9:30am EDTBy MTB

Changes and improvements included in newly released schedule

The 2015 SCRC 15s championship competition schedule has been released and includes some significant changes.

Divisional Format

SCRC teams will continue to play in the divisional format but some but some changes were required due to the fact that LSU has decided to pursue a different conference alignment for 15s.Beginning this fall, LSU will be competing in the Red River Conference for 15s but will continue to maintain a associate membership with the Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference to retain other services.

To balance the number of teams in each division, Florida has agreed to move to the West and will compete in that division this fall.  And, each conference team now has two cross over matches.

Additionally, the conference has moved away from the two games in one weekend format to determine a conference champion.  At the conclusion of the regular season the #2 seed from each division will travel to the #1 seed of the other division.  Then, the following weekend the winner will meet at a location yet to be determined for the conference championship final.

East Division
South Carolina

West Division
Mississippi State
Ole MIss

Semifinal: November 14
Final: November 21

Schedule work product

Fall 2015 Regular Season

September 12
Auburn @ Alabama – postponed
South Carolina @ Georgia (USC 43, UGA 8)
Vanderbilt @ Ole MIss (UM 43, VU 21)

September 19
Alabama @ Ole Miss
Auburn @ Tennessee
Mississippi State @ Florida
Vanderbilt @ Georgia
Kentucky @ South Carolina

September 26
Florida @ Georgia
Ole Miss @ Mississippi State
Vanderbilt @ Tennessee

October 03
Florida @ Alabama
Tennessee @ Kentucky
South Carolina @ Vanderbilt

October 10
Alabama @ Vanderbilt
Auburn @ Florida
Georgia @ Mississippi State
Ole Miss @ Kentucky

October 17
Kentucky @ Alabama
South Carolina @ Auburn
Tennessee @ Florida

October 24
Mississippi State @ Auburn
Georgia @ Tennessee

October 31
Alabama @ Mississippi State
Florida @ Ole Miss
Kentucky @ Vanderbilt
Tennessee @ South Carolina

November 07
Ole Miss @ Auburn
Georgia @ Kentucky
Mississippi State @ South Carolina

2015 SCRC Olympic Rugby Championship

05/10/2015, 8:45am EDTBy MTB

Top 8 seeds meet in Knoxville to determine champion

8 teams advance to championship

South Carolina1515153013
Mississippi State811132452
Ole Miss70815  
1Total Points (2 events)    
2Highest Finish    
3Head to Head     
4Point Differential    

SCRC – Gainesville

Event Date: 3/21/2015

Order of Finish

  1. University of South Carolina
  2. University of Tennessee
  3. University of Florida
  4. University of Alabama
  5. Auburn University
  6. University of Georgia
  7. Vanderbilt University 
  8. Mississippi State University
  9. University of Mississippi

SCRC – Tuscaloosa

Event Date: 3/28/2015

Order of finish

  1. University of South Carolina
  2. University of Tennessee
  3. Louisiana State University
  4. University of Alabama
  5. Mississippi State University
  6. University of Florida
  7. Vanderbilt University
  8. Auburn University
  9. University of Georgia

SCRC – Tupelo

Event Date: 4/11/2015

Order of Finish

  1. University of South Carolina
  2. University of Florida
  3. Mississippi State University
  4. University of Alabama
  5. Louisiana State University
  6. University of Tennessee
  7. University of Georgia
  8. University of Mississippi
  9. Auburn University