2014/2015 SCRC 15s Rugby All-Conference Awards

11/24/2014, 8:45pm ESTBy GA & MB

All Conference, Player of the Year, Coach of the Year

The Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference wrapped up another exciting season with the University of South Carolina being crowned champions at the SCRC 15s Championships in Columbia, SC. The Gamecocks capped off a fantastic season with a 50-22 win over Alabama in the final.

SCRC 15s Rugby Player of the Year – Dana Corcoran
South Carolina’s Dana Corcoran has been named SCRC Player of the Year. The senior flanker from Wando High School in Charleston, SC is a Business major and AP Scholar.

Dana returned from an early season injury to lead the team in the final matches of the fall campaign and the SCRC Championship. Dana’s tenacity on defense and high work rate fit very well with his inspirational leadership of the Gamecocks. Off the field he is well known as an excellent ambassador of the game. 

SCRC 15s Rugby Coach of the Year – Evan Kaplan
Mississippi State’s Evan Kaplan has been named SCRC Coach of the Year. Evan and Coach Randy Pannell led the Bulldogs in a fantastic fall season that included a West Division Championship and their first ever appearance in the SCRC Championship Tournament. In Spring 2013 Mississippi State was 0-6 in conference play and was outscored by over 250 points. 18 months later MSU finished the Fall 2014 campaign with a 5-1 record and a West Division Championship. Receiving very little resources from the university, Evan and Randy’s hard work is a testament to the fact that a team can achieve in the conference with solid recruiting, a student athlete commitment to training and a dedicated coaching staff. 

This year’s competition saw much improvement over the course of the season with some teams taking major steps to improve their programs. Overall the level of play was much improved and it showed in competitive matches from top to bottom. The conference would like to thank all teams, players, coaches, club sports administrators, referees, volunteers, and fans for making this year a success. The following are individuals whose performances stood out above the rest. 

First Team

1. Nathan Diggers (Georgia)
2. Patrick Hafenbriddle (Kentucky)
3. Daniel Depperschmidt (Alabama)
4. Wyatt Visca (Tennessee)
5. Zac Gorman (South Carolina)
6. Dana Corcoran (South Carolina)
7. Ryan Roper (Tennessee)
8. Shawn Branham (Alabama)
9. Brian Keown (South Carolina)
10. Kyle Burnett (Florida)
11. Luke Dyson (Tennessee)
12. Ross Depperschmidt( Alabama)
13. Simon Bedoya (Alabama)
14. Lee Bogitsh (Tennessee)
15. Tim Hamill (South Carolina)

Second Team

1. Jake Murphy (Tennessee)
2. Logan McNeil (Tennessee)
3. Roger Williams (Florida)
4. Alex Diaz (Florida)
5. Zach Mullineaux (South Carolina)
6. Mike Mahon (South Carolina)
7. Kyle Peterson (Kentucky)
8. Stephen Sheehan (Florida)
9. Jordan Speights (Mississippi State)
10. CJ Leadingham (Kentucky)
11. Stephen Beckerle (Florida)
12. Christian Hardy (Kentucky)
13. Christian Harrell (South Carolina)
14. Demarrion Haynes (Mississippi State)
15. Omar McClendon (Mississippi State)